Skip to content

Nominating Someone for an Honour

The honours system Nominating someone

An Honour is an exceptional method of acknowledging an individual’s contribution on UK life and acknowledging that they’ve done something special and provided an exceptional service that is beyond what is expected of them.

They usually made the lives of others better or have been exceptional in their work.

Who are the national awards for?

Honours are given to people from all different walks of life who have done something unique. It could be at an international level, or the winners are acknowledged by their community and who have made a positive impact on their local area. More than half of prizes go to those who have put something extra to the community on the basis of their own initiative.

People are awarded awards for their achievements such as:

doing their best to make a difference to their community or the field of work
Enhancing the reputation of Britain
Volunteer service for long-term
Innovation and entrepreneurialism
Moving things forward and focusing on accomplishment
helping people who aren’t in a position to provide for themselves
Moral courage

Honours are awarded to those working in various fields , such as:

local, community-based and voluntary services
media and the arts
Science and technology
The economy and business
public or political service

What are the levels of Honours available?

In a nomination letter, it is not necessary to specify the level of award you’re seeking The decision is made in Cabinet Office Committees. Cabinet Office Committees when they go through the nominations.

Visit this website for more information on how to get a royal honour.

However, as a general guideline to help you, the National Honours are:

British Empire Medal (BEM) which is awarded for “hands-on” services to the community within the local area of.
A member of the Order of the British Empire (MBE) is a prestigious award that recognizes the achievement or contribution in the community that has had a lasting impact and is a model for other people.
An Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE): honors those who have fulfilled an outstanding local or county-wide function in any area.
The Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) is a reward for the most prominent regional or national job.
Knight or Dame: people who have made an outstanding contribution to any field, typically on a national basis.

Who is awarded Honour?

The nomination is evaluated in one of 9 expert committees, which are all chaired by independents with the guidelines laid out by the Prime Minister. In Devon like elsewhere in the country, the Lieutenancy is frequently asked to carry out local due Diligence checks to support the procedure. The nominations are then submitted to the main honors committee, headed by Secretary to the Cabinet. Names, accompanied by the appropriate level of honour is then sent to the King.

Nominations for honours are treated with the strictest confidentiality. It is essential that the person who is selected is not told because it would be unfair to set expectations in the event that they don’t meet the criteria The honours range from around 1,100 to be presented two times a year. there are thousands of nominations, which means the competition is fierce.

How long will it take between nomination and honor being conferred?

Honours Lists are released in the New Year , and on the day of Her Majesty’s birthday.

Check out the the published Lists (in National newsletters or The London Gazette or on the honors website) to find out the extent to which your candidate has been successful.

If after three years there is no response, you are likely to conclude that the nomination was not successful and was subsequently withdrawn. Sometimes, however, they may be longer.

You may re-nominate, however it is unlikely to succeed unless the person you nominated has made other achievements.